By Pallavi Gupta

National Accreditation Board for Hospitals & Healthcare Providers (NABH) is a constituent board of Quality Council of India, set up to establish and operate accreditation programme for healthcare organizations. NABH serves to much desired need of consumers and set benchmark for the progress of healthcare industry. Getting NABH certification requires adherence to standards and benchmarks by hospital/healthcare organization, which in turn improves quality of healthcare services and benefits patients.

Certification process requires healthcare organizations to strictly follow 10 chapters incorporating 45 standards and 167 objective elements. The 10 chapters are :-
1. AAC (Access Assessment and Continuity of care)
2. COP (Care Of Patient)
3. MOM (Management Of Medication)
4. PRE (Patients Right and Education)
5. HIC (Hospital Infection Control)
6. CQI (Continuous Quality Improvement)
7. ROM (Responsibilities of Management)
8. FMS (Facility Management and Safety)
9. HRM (Human Resource Management)
10. IMS (Information Management System)

Accreditation benefits :-
• Accreditation benefits hospitals, it helps hospital in demonstrating commitment to quality care. Helps to build brand value for the patients. It raises patients confidence in services provided by the hospital.

• Accreditation benefits patients all along :-

 Sticking to NABH standards means improved healthcare quality with increased patient satisfaction.
 Patients are treated by trained and skilled medical staff.
 Patients rights are met everytime and are respected and protected.
 Patients can raise their voice as proper procedure for handling patients complaints and dissatisfaction is there.

• Accreditation benefits hospital staff as it provides for continuous learning, good environment, leadership, job satisfaction. It provides overall development and growth for staff including medical and paramedical

About The Author


You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *